top of page

CHAMPIONS OF LIFE


As an athlete, I always strived and pushed myself to excel, give everything to show my maximum capabilities and be of service to my team. I came across numerous games and experienced the triumphs and failures of being an athlete. I suffered the worst injuries and bounced back. I was put down many times but strived to climb back. I had disagreements, which humbled me to apologize and accept. I found new friendships that helped me build connections beyond life status and country of origin. Being an athlete taught me life's greatest lessons. It was a training ground for me to grow emotionally, mentally and physically. It is with great blessing that the Lord Jesus graced me with the love for sports, which up until this moment, I am very passionate about. Our Coach Vip Isada once told us that being an athlete does not always mean winning championships. It is about being champions in life. What does it mean to be champions in life? It means going beyond the athlete's capabilities in sports, striving to finish education and to live a life in service of others. I am beyond grateful of what sports offered me and with this, I have to pay it forward.

One fellow Lady Maroon dared to make a change in her community, and I am truly inspired. She started an organization that sprouted as a small gathering of children who wanted to play volleyball, growing into one big gathering of children wanting to learn new sports. I was very moved when I came to visit last Saturday. Their willingness to learn and utmost respect for their coaches amazed me. I was bombarded by warm hugs and thank you's and voices shouting, "Coach Mikki balik ka ulit sa Sunday ha?" (Coach Mikki come back on Sunday ok?) A flashback of memories came across my mind and gave me a sudden realization that, we athletes could make a tremendous impact on children’s lives and how imparting our talents can make a huge difference in guiding them towards being champions in life.

1 Peter 4:10-11 New International Version (NIV): 10 Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. 11 If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

At that moment, I prayed and called upon Jesus. I know he was speaking to me through these verses. It was a call to serve other people and at the same time to share his word. Right now, I am challenged and determined. I know that this is a start of a new journey. Everyone can make a difference. It just takes a big heart and a huge amount of courage to make a move to start something. It took us one Toni Faye Tan to start this amazing cause, and so can you. This organization is a challenge to every community to strive to make a change.

I DARE YOU TO MAKE A CHANGE. - Michiko Castañeda Philippine National Netball Team Player Guro Youth Sports Advocate


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page